Gio & Joy and the Three French Hens

What I read: Gio & Joy and the Three French Hens by Ellie Hall

Why I picked it up: I started this series and they have become “a book a day” for me, so I’m going to finish (2 remain).

How I read it: On Kindle Unlimited in a day.

What it’s about: Joy has to move in with her mother because she lost her job, her boyfriend, and her apartment – good thing her mom moved to the same small town that her best friend did (the only Costa sister). Now she’s working at the pizza and pie place (that doesn’t have a name because we haven’t gotten to the similar timeline that we already know of at the end of book #1 in this series) with the brother she had the biggest crush on when she was a teen. But he’s a player – or at least that’s what she thinks – and he seems to have her in his sights for his next game.

What I liked: I appreciated this one in the series for her starting over and her seeing her mom turn over a new leaf. Change is possible.

What I disliked: She struggles to know that someone could actually love her – but thinks the magician was her “one and only” … the required “break-up and get back together” at the end seemed ridiculous.

Genre: Chaste love story, Christmas, small town.

Rating & Recommendation: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ and it’s a sweet series, I’m going to finish, but I hope the final two are a little better, this wasn’t the strongest of the series.

Leave a comment