Yes, He Needs to be Catholic

karl-fredrickson-27504

I was recently introduced to The Art of Catholic Podcast by a my favorite englishman over at Restless Pilgrim. I haven’t decided if I’m going to be a regular listener yet, but I did listen to one episode recently that got me thinking about my future husband and a common conversation I have with people when the topic comes up.

Even a woman I work with has an opinion about this. Her husband isn’t Catholic, and on the MARTA on our way to the Atlanta airport last April she told me why that’s fine for her. Those last two words being the most significant – “for her.” She’s brought it up multiple times. “There’s a man out there for you, I just don’t think he’s Catholic.” Okay, good to know, thanks for the encouragement. So I’ve stopped bringing it up with her (and most others, to be honest) because I just think they don’t get me.

Then I listened to this episode and he statistics cited in the first few minutes of this podcast and my desire for a Catholic man is affirmed. The episode is about where men are in the church and what might be some of the reasons why the answer is “not there.” But the first part of the episode he cites some amazing studies about children and their likelihood of staying in the faith. Mothers have some influence on the faith of their children, but fathers hold the cake here. If the man of the household is a strong, faith-filled person, then the children remain Catholic something like 75% of the time. The same stat for mom’s who are faith-filled, but dad isn’t, is less than 25%. WOW!

Our father’s have such an influence on our faith.

It’s not a guarantee, nothing is. I was introduced to Christian over at The Evangelista via this article last year. Her main theme is that her parents persevered in their faith and were a witness to their children. Her father is a strong, faith-filled man as well. They were faithful because it was important to them. And they caught it!

So yeah – he has to be Catholic. We aren’t getting married to just not be alone. We’re trying to get each other to Heaven and to raise Saints. This isn’t something I can do on my own, nor do I want to.

Where is this man? I don’t know. Is there only one possibility? No, as Emily Stimpson Chapman said in The Catholic Girl’s Guide to the Single Life a few years ago: “You’re single because you want to be. You’re looking for something more than the average person is offering. You’re waiting for the one that the Lord has prepared to help make you a saint.” [That’s a loose quote.] She wrote that book many years before meeting the man she would marry. They were married just a few years ago now, right around her 40th birthday. They were ready for each other and are prepared to help each other get to Heaven, and soon their new little baby that they are adopting.

Being the right person and marrying the right person are the two more important things to a healthy, happy, long-lasting marriage. Getting married just because I’m tired of sleeping alone? I’d probably be better off getting a dog … although, I’m not there yet…

Join the Conversation

9 Comments

  1. I totally agree with you, he NEEDS to be Catholic and a faithful, practicing Catholic at that. I’ve had friends who say they would be fine with a non-Catholic husband and they’ve tried to maybe convince me that I’m too stringent on that point. “We aren’t getting married to just not be alone. We’re trying to get each other to Heaven and to raise Saints. This isn’t something I can do on my own, nor do I want to.” – this right here says it for me. I also imagine I’d be just as lonely going to Mass on my own and trying to fully live my Catholic faith with a non-Catholic husband.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So agree with you on this – and I find it sad how people would so strongly try to manipulate you into lowering your standards. It’s not too much to ask, or at all unreasonable, or limit potential husbands to guys who share your faith. To be honest, I don’t really understand Catholic people who don’t care about this! It would be so difficult to not share such an integral part of your life with your spouse, and that can cause a lot of tension and difficulty within marriage.

    Like

  3. I totally agree. I’ll be honest, there is a part of me that would like to say that he wouldn’t have to be Catholic, but his faith would have to be important to him. The reality is, though, that that wouldn’t work. If his faith was important to him, how would he be the spiritual head of the home if everyone else is Catholic (because it’s non-negotiable for any children to be Catholic)? And could I even respect someone that was okay with that? I do get lonely being single, but I would be lonelier being married to someone who didn’t share my faith.

    Like

    1. I do agree. I want to say he doesn’t have to be catholic but again I don’t know how that would work. And being single is lonely sister but I think it would be worse being alone and married to someone I didn’t connect spiritually with.

      Like

Leave a comment