The Token Single Gal

I saw this article on Verily recently and really appreciated what she had to say. As the token single gal in my own friend group, it really resonated with me.

How to Thrive When Dating in Your 30s Verily

Everyone thinks that the other person has “just the best life” and wants to share about how they are worse off than you. This feels like people saying “feed bad for me, my life is so hard.” As a single girl it’s hard to look at my married friends with their great children and feel bad for them. I don’t, I won’t, and I can’t.

I do, will, and can recognize that all of us have our struggles. They are perpetually woken up in the middle of the night, can’t finish reading one book in a month, and have to deal with not only accommodating their own schedule, but a husband’s as well as a kid or three’s.

They look at my life and think it’s so glamorous. I can read however much I want, go to bed when I want, get up whenever I want, and just work in peace and quiet. I mean, I can do all of those things. That’s the place where I am right now. I have the freedom of my own schedule. I get to travel for work and see lots of different places – I’m even visiting South Dakota this week for the first time. I was able to just buy a plane ticket and go to Greece last summer. It is freeing to only be dealing with one person’s calendar, schedule, and preferences.

However, when I look at their life I see so many people who love them, adore them, and depend on them. It is the life I’m looking to have. And maybe someday I will, or I won’t. There’s really not much to do but wait, trust, hope, and do whatever the Lord tells me to. My goal is his will – hopefully I can accomplish it – single or, if he wills it, married.

Leave a comment